Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 26, 2005, 2:02 PM   #1

I am in the market for a higher end dSLR and i am trying to decide which camera to buy. I am trying to decide if the features that the 20D has is worth the extra cash. I am an amatuer photographer and i am getting more and more into photgraphy.

If i go with the Digital Rebel do you think i will be restrained?? (other then printing larger prints)

thanks guys
lordecthelion is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 26, 2005, 2:59 PM   #2

The dRebel is about 1/2 the price of the 20D now.

If you work out the print areas and dots per inch, the difference between a 6mp and 8mp capability is very marginal at best.

The dRebel is slower to operate than the 20D, and has a few issues with the way some controls work, you can check other dRebel users for that.

But you can get a really good lens for the price difference, if you are OK with what the dRebel gives you.

PhotosByVito, where are you? :-), could use your experiences with the dRebel here :-)

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2005, 3:28 PM   #3

A lot depends on what type of pictures you are going to take. Besides the 8mp vs 6, the 20D also has
  • Full time AI Servo capability - very beneficial for sports[/*]
  • FEC on the camera[/*]
  • More frames per second and more total pictures in burst mode (also very beneficial for sports and some wildlife)[/*]
  • Better high-ISO performance, including 3200[/*]
  • Ability to change metering modes[/*]
  • ETTL-II flash