Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

View Poll Results: Which will camera will be best for my needs?
Panasonic DMC-FZ20 12 63.16%
Nikon Coolpix 8800 1 5.26%
Fujifilm Finepix S 5100 4 21.05%
Olympus C-770 1 5.26%
Canon Powershot S1 IS 1 5.26%
Kodak Easyshare DX7590 0 0%
Konica Minolta Dimage Z2 0 0%
Konica Minolta Dimage Z10 0 0%
Voters: 19. You may not vote on this poll

Old Feb 2, 2005, 9:01 AM   #1

I am trying to figure out which one will give me the biggest bang for my buck. I will be using this for Red Sox games, my wife's pregnancy (hopefully ; ) ), for EBAY, and also to be able to take some scenic pictures for display in our home. I am a novice with a huge interest in photography for a hobby. The cameras with video and sound also intrigue me for their versitility. Thank you for any help.

Panasonic DMC-FZ20

Nikon Coolpix 8800

Fujifilm Finepix S 5100

Olympus C-770

Canon Powershot S1 IS

Kodak Easyshare DX7590

Konica Minolta Dimage Z2

Konica Minolta Dimage Z10
FarrarEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 2, 2005, 2:12 PM   #2

anyone else? Only one person?
Old Feb 2, 2005, 3:12 PM   #3

i'm on the same boat and i'm really interested on what people have to say.

with the help of tlmiller01 i'm 90% decided on the FZ20, but the fact that the Fuji's look so cool are keeping me doubtful. if only the S7000 was 10 or 12x i'd go with that one on a heartbeat but since i'm on the pursuit of a good super-zoom, the FZ20 seems to be the best contender. so i'll vote on that one since the S7000 is not in your list(well, its not super-zoom anyways)

good luck and keep us posted on what you get
Max_Pain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2005, 5:02 PM   #4

Panasonic Lumix line (eg. FZ3, FZ20) are the best ultra-zooms if you don't care about video...

If you care about video then Konica Minolta Z3 (or the newly announced Z5) or Canon S1 IS are worth considering.