Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 6, 2005, 7:27 AM   #1

I would like to take some nice close ups, especiallynature and some sports. I have a Canon A80 which I like, but limited for some pics, eg. birds, I live in SW Florida. I was debating whether a 10 x superzoom would do or a cheaper SLR.

I hear some bad things about the superzooms, but have no first hand experience as with SLR's.

Any help or comments would be appreciated. I'm an amateur, pictures will be 99% outdoors, andlimited budget around $1000.00.

RLH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2005, 10:24 AM   #2

Are you talking about digital SLRs or film SLRs? DSLRs may cost over $1000 if you are trying to replicate the 10x zoom (although I don't know prices so you may be able to do it); film SLRs are cheap enough to fit under your budget... In any case...

SLRs (both DSLRs and film SLRs) are way beyond the prosumers. If you can afford one, fits within your budget, and you don't care about the size (they are larger), then you should get an SLR or DSLR. There is no comparison!

Having said all that, if you want to save some money, or want a smaller camera, or something like that, then an ultra-zoom should be good enough. Since you are shooting outdoors (hopefully in bright light), a prosumer like Panasonic FZ20 should be able to produce good pics. Where these prosumers will struggle is with low-light pics (eg. indoors, overcast skies, birds in dark areas of forest, etc). Getting high shutter speeds mean that you need to boost ISO and that's when these cameras fall off the charts and start producing horrible noise.