Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 23, 2005, 3:36 PM   #1

I've been reading on these forums some things that have been said about the Z3 and it's not very encouraging, as this was the camera I had practically set myself on buying with my tax $$ in two days. I checked it out in the store and I was blown away by it compared to my current camera (JVC GC-A70) but am discouraged by many posts here. So I will ask this, as this forum says...should I buy this camera? I am a total newb at "real" cameras and want to learn about fstops and apertures after having a locked setting P&S for so long.

Is there a camera I should be thinking of instead? My main concern is I want one that uses AA batteries. I'm willing to buy a new card format (mine uses SD and I'd prefer taht of course) but I will not pay $50 or more for a proprietary L-Ion battery. This camera is going to break my budget and I cannot afford to make a bad choice to be honest with you. I really want the 12x zoom but will settle for 10x as I like getting shots of birds and trying to get close with no zoom is a joke. I will consider a lower optical zoom if the camera is spectacular. Max spending with new 512MB card is $600

My current camera:

one of my best pics with it (a peacock):

edit: I'm looking at the Canon S1 as an alternate. Megapixels dont' mean much to me as I don't print at all. Would this be a better alternative? I've seen some sweet photos with a Canon but I'd like the forum's opinion.
Nirgendwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 23, 2005, 6:56 PM   #2

KM announced a new one.. Z5... so it's worth looking at that...

I like the Canon S1 IS over the Z3 (and I bought the S1 IS instead of Z3)... One reason the S1 IS is better than Z3 is because it has brighter lens (max aperature of f3.1 at max zoom on the Canon)... THe Konica Minolta and the Canon are best if you care about video...