Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 13, 2005, 2:32 PM   #1

I'm finally converting to a digital camera, and have sort of narrowed it down to Canon (A95 or A520) and Fuji Finepix E550. I checked out the A95 & Fuji at Best Buy and noticed that the shutter delay on the Canon was much more noticable than on the Fuji. Yet, Steve's reviews shows them as having very comparable shutter delays, with the exception of flash mode when the Fuji is slower.

Without knowing much about the modes the cameras were in, the flash cards in each camera, etc. I'm not sure I was comparing apples to apples. Curious to know what people think of the Canon A95 in this regard; ditto with the Fuji.

Anyone that has owned/tried both have any other thoughts on pros/cons between the two? I'm not very experienced, so ease of use and quality of shots with minimal knowledge are important; shutter delay seems pretty important, too, to get spontaneous shots and not annoy people! I also am about to take some photgraphy courses (both manual & digital)andam majoring inInterior Design,so I imagine I'll be using the more advanced features down the road.

Last thought - has the size of these cameras been a hinderance to anyone - my boyfriend wants something more compact, but I've been leaning towards something a bit larger - no jokes :<. Thanks...any advice/input is greatly appreciated!
janetma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 13, 2005, 5:43 PM   #2

Hi Janet,

I have a Canon G2, and one of the lessons it taught me is that shutter lag IS a problem! That and slow startup, although that seems to be less of a problem these days. I have seriously missed several shots that I thought would have been great. I swear, I'm certain that it was a peacock I saw in Sweden last summer, but it could have been a pheasant. But we'll never know 'cause I couldn't get my camera out, on and shoot fast enough.