Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Apr 29, 2005, 8:44 PM   #1

I'm looking to buy a new cam, my priorities being the following:
-a compact cam, that fits into my pocket.
-a good movie mode, meaning no 60 second recording limit for instance, but rather the possibility to record until the card is full.

As for the pictures, well, I'm by no means a professional photographer; while I expect nice pictures in general (I'd also like a camera that can do a decent job in the dark), I'm not fussy about technical details. It'll be used for group and landscapes pictures. 3 Megapixels would be enough for me.

Now, I've read a lot of reviews in the past weeks. At 1st, I liked the Fuji f440, then the Canon SD200/SD300. But I learned about the Canon E18 problems and I don't really feel like taking the chance to go with that brand.

Do you have any recommendations? By the way, I don't want to spend more than 400 $.
Thanx in advance.
scoopdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2005, 9:01 AM   #2

I am too on the hunt for the same style camera. This will be my first digicam, unless you count my old 1 megapixel mavica from the 90's era.

I looked into the Canon SD-400 but they seem to be plagued with cheap LCD's that can't handle temperature change to well. So I crossed that one off the list.

That Fuji f440 looks interesting, but your limited to xD memory. I really like SD since it is cheap and widely used. Another one off the list.