Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 8, 2005, 4:34 AM   #1

Hi all, i'm new to this site. May i start off by saying what a great site it is.

But i am still confused. my friend has bought a Panasonic FZ 20. it appears to be a great camera. It is slightly out of my price range though considering this will be my first 'proper' digital camera.

i have been advised that the nearest type is the Olympus C 765 or the C 770could you please advise me if this would be suitable for a first camera. or if there are any others that would match it.

i have spent ages checking out the comparisons on this site but am still confused.

i am a fire officer and would be using the camera for work as well as pleasure. hence the reason for not wanting anything too bulky.

Thank you
sammyUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2005, 9:15 AM   #2

There is a great difference between the FZ20 and the 765/770, and because there are several cameras that are much closer to the 20 than those Oly's, I would have to say that the person who told you that the Oly's were thenearest does not know the full range of cameras. The FZ20 is a full-sized, full-featured mega-zoom with image stabilization (IS), and the Oly is, well...not. Since size is an issue, I will limit my comments to the cameras that are more similar in size to the Oly's, rather than mention the ones that are truely closer to the 20.