Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 13, 2005, 7:12 PM   #1

I've been using a Powershot s400 for close to two years now and had an s300 before that. For the most part I've really liked these cameras, but lately I've become more enthusiastic about photography and am starting to feel very limited.

The main thing I'm missing from an aesthetics standpoint is the ability to experiment with depth-of-field effects. Without an aperture priority setting, I feel like I'm losing potentially great shots.

As far as performance concerned, I find my camera to sometimes be unresponsive to the point that it's awkward to take pictures of people ("hang on, keep smiling") and I'm also almost never pleased with it's performance indoors (it usually breaks my heart to see how terrible a nicely envisioned picture looks when the flash kicks in).

So, I'm ready to move up.

I've considered making the big leap straight to dSLR and getting a Rebel XT. I've researched it quite a bit and was almost ready to buy, but am now thinking that I'm not quite ready for the "fuss" of dSLR and would miss things like movie-mode and framing shots with the LCD.

This made me start to look at "middle-step" cameras like the Powershot Pro 1 and Powershot G6. My thinking was that I could use one of these cameras to grow a bit while still maintaining some of the familiar features and convenience I'm used to. I also noticed the Powershot S70, which seemed to match the G6 feature-wise, but in a much sleeker body.

I guess my real question is this: Is it worth it to take that middle step?

Also, how do the Pro 1 and G6 really compare. Where does the s70 fall in?

Thanks in advance for the help. I know this is a long post, but I really wanted to be clear on what I want.