Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old May 25, 2005, 10:07 AM   #1

I am very new to digital cameras and photography, but very much interested and need help deciding what camera to buy?

I have a budget of around $250-275.I can live happily with 4MP or less.

My main priority is zoom(atleast 6X). The pictures should be clear and sharp even in low light(indoor) conditions. I really hate those Red-eyes. How can soo costly Digicams return images with red-eyes!

I did try to do some research but now i'm goin crazy:?

Fugi's S5100, Canon S1 IS, Minolta Dimage Z2, Panasonic Lumix LZ2 were some which i saw. Out of these Canon seemed good with Image Stabilization but opinion of ppl using it revelaled that it lacked picture sharpness!

Minolta Z2 had pathetic low light performance is what i came to know from opinion survey.

Panasonic LZ2returned Red-eyes!

The only left out camera was S5100.I guess it doesn't have Live Histogram but thats ok.

Please guys, suggest me whether to go for this S5100 or are there some other cameras which i should look out for?

Panasonic Lz2 is different from the rest of the cameras but i liked it cause it gave 6x zoom and came in such a compact size. But Red eye is a show spoiler!

I was looking for camera with minimal shutter lag, I guess S5100 is very good in this department too. Please let me know if thereare any drawbacks of S5100. Also do suggest other cameras that fit my bill.

iamkapilb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 25, 2005, 6:48 PM   #2

Hi: The Fuji S5100 is a good camera; most owners are really satisfied with it's performance. I think it still has the $50 rebate in effect, so you can buy it for $300 or less.

Also, look at the ultrazooms from Olympus. The 10x zoom on the C765 or C770 is an excellent lens.

Steven R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2005, 9:16 PM   #3