Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 10, 2005, 12:46 AM   #1

OK, I've been on the research trail, and I'm now lost in a sea of confusing options. I've finally decided to post, in the hope that you good folk may be able to help me!

I'm a total amateur, and don't really understand all the tech-o stuff about photography. I just know when a photo looks good, and I know, intrinsically, what to point the thing at, and when to press the button.

I've taken some pretty nice photos with my Pentax Optio 33lf (3mp, 3x zoom), but it's coming time for me to get some good zoom, another megapixel or two, to somehow get a bit wider, and get better battery life. Incidentally, my Optio 33lf has been great! I also get frustrated at the limitations - oh, and not being able to fit the full scene in the shot (Pentax is 38mm)

My photo's are generally scenic and/or people shots, although I would like to get some action photos as well. I like to get out in the bush, and mountains, and beaches, and general life living!

I'm trying to be concise, but part of the problem is that I'm not entirely sure what I need.
Here is the super concise list of what I'm looking for:

Optical Zoom: 8+
Megapixels: 4+
Price: $350 - $450 US
Wideness: Wide lens, or ability to add wider lens.
Profile: Compact / light as possible – to take tramping.(hiking)
Features: IS
Battery life: Good / excellent. (AA's please)

I've been looking seriously at the Canon S1 IS, but it's only 3.2mp, and I think I need 4mp to be able to print something to put on my wall. Also, I would want to buy either the Canon wide angle lens, or maybe the Tiffen one from lensmateonline. Either way, this bumps the price right up, and I've still only got a 3.2mp camera.