Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 13, 2005, 9:24 AM   #1

I am fairly new to the world of digital photography, but I'd like to know more. For years I used an Olympus D-560 3.2 mp and have been satisfied. Now I'd like to upgrade. The Fujifilm F10 looks like a great camera and it has received the best reviews for a camera in its category. Canon's S2 SI is also receiving high marks but it is an entirely different kind of camera - more advanced, manual controls and much bulkier than the F10. It seems like comparing apples and oranges here. I would love to have a 12X zoom camera like the Canon S2 SI for certain shots and the F10 for everyday ease of use to keep in my pocket. Is this really necessary, though? To spend so much money on two quality cameras seems extravagant and I don't want to do so if I don't need to. Would the F10 be enough camera just to take sharp, excellent indoor and outdoor shots - as an all around digital camera? The S2 SI seems like too much camera for me, but I love that 12X optical zoom feature. Please advise. I don't want to break the bank. Thanks all.
Justinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2005, 10:30 AM   #2

Just my opinion, I think you will be kicking yourself if you don't get the S2 with it's 12x optical, image stabilized zoom .

You can always use auto mode until you learn how to use the manual controls, and you will want to, for more creative photography.

If you were seriously considering the expense oftwo cameras, then I would suggest you go for one DSLR. Yes it would cost more in the long(or short) run, with lenses etc, but, for example, you could get a Canon Rebel XT (350D) with the kit lens for around $900.00. That's a little more than $90.00 on top.

Consider a cheaper carry around later maybe.

Just a thought.

Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2005, 11:10 AM   #3