Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 26, 2005, 10:54 PM   #1

Hello everyone. I've lurked here for a bit but this is my first post so if I make mistakes please overlook them. I am considering the move from film to digital and therefore the purchase of a digital slr. I am a clueless newbie so I hope some of you might share your wisdom with me. I am considering the dslr because I have been using a borrowed panasonic fz10 and while I'm sure it is a good camera it doesn't fit me that well. I have found ways to take good photos with it but the conditions have to be good and the resulting photos always appear soft to me. Most of my photos are of nature subjects and I want better picture quality (leaves with sharp edges, birds with sharp individual feathers - that sort of thing - detail). In addition the shutter lag can drive one crazy when you happen on a subject on the trail with only a few seconds to get the shot before they run/fly away. I went to a store and picked up several cameras. The best feeling camera was the Nikon D70 with the Canon 20D a very close second. I suspect the D70 felt better because I am used to the Nikons I use now. I read in reviews that the D70 has a problem with moire and it seems to have more noise (grain?) than the 20D and more reviewers seem to rave about the 20d than the D70. The others (such as the 350D) felt too small in my hands so that trimmed the selections down pretty quickly. I think I've decided (based on what I've read) to switch to canon and get the 20d. I am thinking of the 17-85 kit lens for walking around and the sigma 80-400 OS for a bird/wildlife lens (again based on reading - more reasonable cost and no dust issues like the canon 100-400 and I think I can up the ISO without significant grain increase to compensate for stopping down if I need to with the cheaper lens?). Since this decision will put my nikon lenses on the shelf and drain my bank account for the forseeable future