Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 28, 2005, 7:59 AM   #1

First post, so I also tell a bit about me; my name is Andrea, I am 30, from Italy, and a photo enthusiast. I also like to write, as you are about to discover! :-)

I have had a Oly C-50Z for two years and shot a lot (2000+ are just those I kept, full tally is probably 5000+ or so) of pictures, with varied results; I have always been impressed with the pre-programmed modes (sports in particular) but I have noticed focusing problems in gloomy conditions, a problem that has improved since I started shooting with the P mode setting the WB to overcast.

I am currently trying to experiment more with manual modes, but I am still in a transition phase, that is, I am very interested in fiddling with the settings, and I do it as much as I can to see what I can obtain, often with good results, especially when shooting on a tripod with time to spend; but very often I don't have the time (I shoot a lot!) to do this, so I need good AUTO modes as well.

Now, I mostly shoot:
a) human portraits, both indoor and outdoor, most often very close, but also a few group pictures and close-up animal pictures;
b) pictures of sports events, most usually of moving subjects (typically running, but sometimes faster); I am somewhat good at those, by pre-focusing in the area I usually take good pics with my Oly;
c) macro pictures of bugs and flowers.

Point b) is what makes me say that I need a longer zoom than the 3x I have on the Oly, and I really do a lot of pictures of that type.

Considering all of the above, would a Canon Powershot S2 IS be a good choice for me? I am very interested in owning an ultrazoom, but I am wondering how good the cam is when taking pictures at an extreme zoom, especially considerring that I often shoot moving targets in overcast conditions.