Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jun 30, 2005, 7:06 PM   #1

I am in the market to get my 5th digital camera. Up till now I have gone through all the generations of Canon line. From the S100 to S400 to S500 - (one in there that I can't recall).

I have always liked the Canon cameras because the picture quality was decent and the size of the camera. My S500 was given away so I need to get something new.

Normally I would just go out and buy the SD500 but I am intrigued by some of the new smaller options and feature rich cameras.

I am not a professional photographer by any means - I find that I take more pictures and better pictures when I have the camera with me. Here is my criteria;

1. So a camera I can carry with me everywhere I go is the most important function. The S500 had a carrying case that I would attach to my belt - made me look like a geek - but it worked. I would like something I can carry in my pocket and not worry about.

2. Many of the night pictures I have taken always have some jitter - I have learned to find something solid to lean my camera up against to get rid of jitter - maybe image stabilization would be important.

3. I go to lots of sporting events - I am not asking for 10x zoom or anything - but something better than the standard 3x zoom would be much apperciated.

4. Battery life - I was in China with my S500 and every day my camera would run out of batteries - nightime would come around I was done taking pictures. I have learned to carry extra batteries now.

5. Price - Price is no object.

6. Viewfinder - I have never used it and I don't have any need for it.

Anyone have any suggestions? Is the Panasonic FX7 my only real option? Or is there something better that I should look at? For the Ultra Compact family of cameras - which is the dream model by which all others are compared?

Any responses would be greatly appreciated.
jesseasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links