Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 3, 2005, 7:05 AM   #1

I was wondering if you could help me with a quick question. I was wondering what technology / feature I should be looking for in camera's that I want to use in low light conditions. I have had two digital cams bought for me but they are of very little use for low light conditions.

I go to alot of local live music gigs and usually all my pics come out crap. I wanted to know how I could improve on this and if you could recommend a good camera for this. Will I just have to bite the bullet and get one with an external flash?

I am a student so the lower the price the better and the smaller the cam the better too.
PDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 3, 2005, 9:50 AM   #2

My impression is that a digicam's ability in low light is determined by the price. A big sensor (high buck), good electronics, and a fast lens (something like US$2-4,000, lens only) if you want to avoid using a flash.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2005, 10:05 AM   #3

Yep, I like to take photos in local restaurants and clubs that have live music, too.

See myfirst post on this pagefor the solution I'm considering:

If you're on a budget (and/or don't want to lug a larger camera around), also take a look at the new Fuji Finepix F10. It seems to be in a class by itself for higher ISO speed performance in a subcompact model right now.

It's lens isn't the brightest (so you'll want to avoid using any zoom to let more light through to the sensor), but it's photos as ISO speeds are increased have less noise compared to other subcompact models (and the F10 hashigher available ISO speeds, too).