Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Sep 30, 2005, 2:11 AM   #1

Which of the following 7MP compact cameras would you recommend? Why?
  • Sony DSC-P200 [/*]
  • Casio Exilim EX-Z750 [/*]
  • Canon Powershot SD550 [/*]
  • Or something else entirely? :?
How I plan to use it::|
  • Vacation camera for snap shots, landscapes, shots of architecture, shots of cool things in museums (no flash)and people [/*]
  • Macro mode: shots of historic 16mm miniature games / dioramas (WWII &Sci-Fi) [/*]
  • My wife will take pictures in macro mode of flowers [/*]
  • I want it to survive three years of use with occasional clumsy drops[/*]
I'd also like to play with the video and audio annotation modes, but that will primarily be experimentation as I consider whether to get a video camera some day.

Looking forward to insightful advice!
lark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2005, 7:40 PM   #2

I'm no expert, but I had a post on here before asking about comparison b/n the P200 and SD550. One of the replies I had that stands out was a link to a forum that was basically people complaining about problems with dust on the inside of the lens or on the sensor of their P150 and P200 Sonys. It seemed like more than a few people were having this problem and associated headaches dealing with Sony in getting the camera cleaned.

I guess the SD550 is too new for problems like this to really have been flushed out (I know there were reports of the earlier SD500 having issues with LCD cracks).

I know nothing about the EX-Z750
culveric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2005, 4:05 PM   #3

Im considering buying the Canon SD 550 camera.I have a couple of questions about it:

1) When I connect it to my computer will it appear as a new drive

2) Are the movies in the standard .avi format as I have heard reports that they need converted before they can be used in programmes such as Adobe Premiere.