Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 19, 2005, 1:49 AM   #1

I guess the best way to put this is to lay out my history, what I'm looking for, and what I have to spend:

I'm a graphic design student and have dabbled in 35mm photography before (I also have a VERY low end digital still camera), but I've just now decided to dip my toes in the video field.

I'm looking for an affordable digital camcorder that I can use for a certain project I've got coming up. It's not for school, but actually an anniversary gift for my fiancee. I'm building a wedding site for us and instead of just telling her, I'm planning on making a DVD as a gift that will conclude with displaying the URL for the site.

I need something I can use to shoot some basic video footage of us together to utilize in the DVD and to add any segues or intro/outro scenes of me addressing her. I want something that has good quality video, but at this point I don't want (and can't afford) a broadcast-quality DV cam. I'd prefer for it to appear that I just purchased a nice camcorder and want to practice with it by recording us together on dates and such (she lives several hours away, and we only see each other every couple months, so the presence of a camera at our dates isn't too strange). She isn't going to have any idea that I'm making this for her, so I don't want to tip her off by using some intense professional-appearing camera with huge boom mics!

That being said, I do want something I can attach an external mic to for the scenes with just me, but that I can use as-is for the candid scenes of us together. The audio for the scenes of us doesn't have to be incredible, much of it will be dubbed over (I work in Audio Production part-time and will be working on a separate soundtrack in Adobe Audition) and the rest I want to have a candid (but good) quality to it, like a clear, well-filmed home movie.