Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 22, 2005, 8:09 AM   #1

Based on feedback here and the ongoing reading of reviews, I have narrowed the selection down to these three cameras.The DSLR is to compliment a ultra-compact P&S. While I have some experience with an older SLR, I am finding these newer cameras to be so much more complicated. My intent of going to a DSLR is to: *indoor & outdoor family shots, high quality - no red-eye, *sport shots (karate, baseball), *macro features, albeit an additional lenses likely, *ability to crop 30-50% of the photo, max. picture size 8X10.

I think I would be happy with any of three cameras above.All of the reviews are favorable & I don't know enough about photography to know the subtle differences. The Nikon 50 is the most comfortable in the hand (& would get the 18/70mm lense). The E500 seems to have a nice layout for the controls & the kit is well-priced.I haven't been able tosee the Maxxum 5D, but Ilike the idea of IS and the kit lense range is higher.

Can you provide any thoughts on how intuitive the operations and controls are? Does one camera have more dial controls vs. menus? Does setting up preferences make the menus less of an issue? Do you like the way the camera allows reviewing (buttons logically arrange, scrolling, etc)? I feellike the only way for me to really absorb the ease of use is to actually get one, but at that point its really to late. If I go with the Nikon, I would also try to take the first 2 Nikon School courses.

Any other thoughts given the likely use of the camera? thank you
macct is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2005, 8:24 AM   #2