Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Oct 26, 2005, 10:46 AM   #1

i'm new to this, i've never owned a good digital camera and am shopping for my first. i am looking for something as versatile as possible within the $250-500 range. i do a lot of self portraiture in my art and photography, so i am stuck on the idea of having a flip-out lcd for this reason. i want something that takes longer, higher quality videos. i would like animage stabilizer as well, it seems it would be a big bonus in both the stills and videos. i would like to be able to adjust settings as much as possible, a lot of room to play. (i pick up on those things quickly but am a beginner so need something user friendly and accessable, but with more advanced features i can use as i become more familiar w the camera.)

i tend to take a lot of band pictures and bar pictures in low lighting, but am accustomed to a pretty poor lcd (on the borrowed camera i use for these generally) and tend to frame my pictures half blind anyway, so if the lcd is a bit on the dim side i guess i can deal, as long as the pics still look good.

i have been reading reviews and am looking a lot at the canon powershot s2, and considering the considerably cheaper s1 as well, as i'm not sure the difference in them warrants the price difference...

my hesitations with the s2:i'm concerned about the file size of the avi files vs mpeg4, which seems a much better way to go. it seems a lot bulkier than many of the other cameras i've been seeing. a smaller size would be nice, but i am not seing this with the flipout lcd.i've read several things that say that the s2 is the best quality video in the price range. but i guess i would trade a littlein thatfor a smaller more managable file size, and possibly a smaller more pocketable camera.