Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 6, 2005, 11:55 AM   #1

I'm a novice photographer looking to get into the world of dSLR photography. I have owned a non-digital SLR and multiple higher-end digital point & shoot cameras in the past. I'm looking for some advice on a new dSLR setup/package. My budget (for the whole package) is in the $2K-$2.5K range (could spend a little more if the extra $ is justified). I'm looking for the camera body, 1 or more good lenses, and recommended accessories (flash, tripod, remote, etc).

I've read several reviews of the 350D and 20D, and I have pretty much narrowed my search down to these 2 cameras, but I am open to alternate suggestions (D70s, etc). I'm looking for advice as to which of these 2 cameras will better suit my needs, and which items should I purchase with the camera (e.g., 1-2 lenses, flash, remote, tripod, etc).

My primary usage of the camera will be -- pictures of my wife, pets, and small children (primarily indoors); small group (5-12 people) portraits (indoors, using a tripod + remote/timer); candid holiday photographs (indoors); candid wedding photographs. 90% of my photography will be indoor photographs of people in various lighting situations. Good lighting, focus, and exposure are very important to me. (This is the main reason for my upgrade from the digital point & shoot - I want better quality photographs of people indoors.)

So, any advice? I was looking at some of Canon's IS lenses - would one of these be a good idea for me?
Any advice/suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
AlbertS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 7, 2005, 10:31 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Blimey - low light is really important for you eh?

As a complete alternative also have a look at the KM 5D & 7D.

But I'm a Canon person myself andI reckon for $2500 you can put together 2 packages which will give you what you need. (Prices all from B&H website.)