Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Nov 23, 2005, 7:12 PM   #1

I have been gradually moving up in digital camera quality and am ready to take the next step. I have been currently shooting with a Nikon Coolpix 5400 and am SO ready to move on. The majority of my photos are macro shots of flowers and some pet photography and then I go hiking and do landscape/nature photography as well, lots of cloud photos, etc. I have never really seen any info out there on which digital cameras are best for macro and close up photography and I know this has everything to do with the lens, so any suggestions? I have been eyeballing the Nikon D-200 but have been reading where people suggest buying the Nikon D-50 and use the money saved to buy excellent lenses...is this the best way to go? Please help...I am just a serious amateur and don't take sports or a lot of moving photos but Excellent clarity and detail and color is a must for me.

ashlic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2005, 7:49 PM   #2

With the price of low cost dSLR cameras falling at an astonishing rate, you might have more potential for long term learning and increased photographic expertise, by examining those.

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2005, 4:21 AM   #3

ashlic wrote:
Excellent clarity and detail and color is a must for me.
You mean overprocessed "Disneyland" photos which many compacts do at their default settings...

Definitely DSLRs would enable biggest versatility and they shine in high ISOs and autofocus speed but they have their own minuses. Like changing lenses, you would need at least couple lenses to cover good zoom range, macrophotography would need own lens and many lenses means more weight to drag (and in hiking there's always more than enough weight to drag along), also they completely lack video mode...pets could give some funny videos.