Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 7, 2005, 8:37 AM   #1

I have never had a digital camera before,i have a 35mm slr,I want to use this camera mostly for horse pics,both still and action.I need a digital camera so that i do not have to wait for the pictures to come back from walmart when i am selling a horse by email.Is the fz30 hard to learn to use?I have some computer knowledge,but i am no expert.Will it be hard for a 1st time digital user to learn to use? I was also considering the konica dimage z6,but seems like the fz30 may be a better camera,i need the 12x zoom for barrel racing action pics.Hopefully someone will answer this soon as i am going to try to make a decison today on a camera,i also am thinking some about a fuji s9500,one more megapixi or smaller zoom,still seems like to me from what i read the fz30 is the best camera.But how user friendly is it? Also what else will i need to buy to go with the camera/
barrelhorse43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 7, 2005, 9:48 AM   #2

For animal shots Panasonic would be definitely better.

And there ain't such thing as best (even less perfect) camera, every camera is compromise, they just lack different things and one is best only in one aspect.
E.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2005, 12:45 PM   #3

I agree about the Panasonic, just remember, with a digital camera you're going to have some shutter lag, which will make nailing an action shot more difficult. You can set to burst mode, but the screen blanks out while shooting. Great pictures? Yes. Good in low light? Yes. Action shots? A little more problematic. However, your only option to improve that would be a dSLR, which has a higher learning curve and is more expensive.

As far as learning the camera, downloading pics onto the computer and e-mailing them, don't even worry about it. Not difficult at all (assuming you've got a USB port on your computer)

Best of luck to you.