Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 15, 2005, 1:08 PM   #1

I am a newbie in this digicam forum.

I am going to buy the digital camera for the holiday season.

My hobby is taking a picture of wild life, nightshot, and sports. And also I like to take the picture of object in macro range.
My budget is about 600 US $ so I am thinking of the following cameras:

1) Panasonic FZ30
2) Canon S2IS
3) Fuji S9000

Could you recommend a good camera that has manual controls and best for my hobby.

I would like to have some opinions or suggestions on the following:

Using this 10x or 12x optical zoom, how far away from the object that I can take the picture clearly. Can I get the details of the person face (something like smiling,crying, etc) from 300m or more?
chwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2005, 1:55 PM   #2

I'm a newbie here too & am very interested to see what responses you get to your inquiry. I am trying to choose a new camera for the holidays as well & am also considering the Canon S2 IS and the Panasonic FZ20. Both have deals on them for around $400 right now. I would love a DSLR, but can't afford one right now. Does anyone have any opinions as to which of these 2 would be the best? I have a 1 year old & 5 year old so I take lots of photos of them - so need something with with fast shutter lag. Also, the lighting in my house is not the best so need something that can handle indoor photos better than my little HP 3 MP I'm using currently.

I'm kind of leaning towards the Panasonic, but would like some first hand knowledge since I have no outlet to actually see the cameras in person & am having to order online. Thanks so much for any input!
dlhoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2005, 5:07 PM   #3

Zoom number doesn't mean s**t in the end.
It's still 10x zoom regardless is focal length range 10-100mm or 100-1000mm.