Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Dec 21, 2005, 3:02 PM   #1

Hi! I've been using a 35mm SLR for many many years now (Olympus OM-1... my first camera ever), and would like to finally get a digital camera to complement it.

I love my manual SLR's simplicity, its lenses, its durability... and would like to continue using it to shoot landscapes, urban scenes, night skies, and other outdoor subjects.

But, I've been looking for a long time for a digital camera with the following traits/features:

1. Smaller and lighter than my old SLR. This means a compact or ultra-compact digicam.

2. Excelling performance in low-lighting conditions, for indoor/social settings. This is one thing my flash-less SLR could not do well. I am keen on taking candid shots of family and friends almost anywhere, without having to use a (distracting and colour-spoiling) flash.

3. Competent filled-frame macro photography. I do have a macro lens for my SLR, but I'd prefer a non-film camera for multiple retakes of close-ups of various knick-knacks I own.

4. Some/lots of manual control. It would be nice to be able to experiment a bit with digital, since there are no processing costs.

5. A digital that still feels like a "classic" SLR, instead of feeling like a small button-laden box that takes pictures.

It's unfortunate, but I can't seem to find THE digicam that fulfills all those needs, and I am sure everyone has felt that way when shopping around.

Here's my problem: I think I have found TWO cameras that yin-yang each other, as far as my requirements go.

The Fuji Finepix F10 gets endless praise for its high ISO settings, and low-noise yields. It sounds like it gives the photographer more opportunity to take hand-held, no-flash pics in low-light/indoor settings. It seems perfect for my first and second requirements.