Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 8, 2006, 1:06 PM   #1

Hi everyone, iam so glad i found this forum iam trying to buy a digital camera,but with

thousands around it is very hard and confusing, well i narrow my search to these two

canon a610 vs kodak v550 they are both 5.0 pixel, here is where i need help, i would like to know some opinions on these two cameras. i am a newbie on digital cameras so i need something that can just P/S, i read somewhere that the kodak its terrible in low light situations (indoors).

any help will be greatly appreciated.
Aztec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 8, 2006, 2:14 PM   #2

The Canon might have a slight advantage in low light situations, but it would not be a substantial advantage at all. These two cameras are pretty similiar in what they can do. They arehowever, radically different in size. With the Canon A-610 being quite a bit larger than the Kodak V-550 in size.

Reading between the lines a bit, it looks like you might be looking for the classic pont and shoot digital camera. You might not want to deal with manual adjustments. Would it be correct to say that you are looking for a really automatic camera, that just takes the photo?

If that is indeed the case, then the manual features of the A-610 are wasted. Enjoy the Kodak V-550 and you will have a mostly automatic camera in a very convenient pocket size.

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2006, 4:12 PM   #3

thank you very much for your input mtclimber
i really appreciated.
Aztec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2006, 8:42 PM   #4