Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 10, 2006, 7:00 PM   #1

I'm looking for the biggest bang for my buck. Low price and high versatility if such a product exists. I'm an experienced novice who wants to devote more time to the passion I have for photography. If anyone knows the best camera with the following I'd greatly appreciate the advice.

all purpose but specifically shooting wildlife, landscapes, outdoors, random abstract tiny stuff, and occasional action shots

Low noise at the telephoto end of the lens

good macro capabilities

no larger than 8X10 prints

I keep coming back to the Kodak z740, Minolta Dimage z4 or z5, Panasonic FZ5, andFuji s5200. Has anyone had experience with said cameras? Pros? Cons?

photag78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2006, 7:49 PM   #2

did you try a search for each of those models, theres like, alot of stuff on here already about them all.... trying to save you a wait

audioedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2006, 11:17 PM   #3

The Fuji S5200 would probably be your best bet. I just got mine and have been very impressed with all aspects thus far.

According to most reviews, the Minolta Z4 and Z5 aren't very good in comparison to other Minolta cameras and the quality can be a bit soft, unsaturated and they have average noise in most photos.

The Kodak Z740 produces nice clear images, but it doesn't offer much flexibility in manual modes. The noise starts to get very noticeable at ISO 200, and I think the ISO can only reach 400.

So it should come down to the Panasonic FZ5 and the Fuji S5200. Both are great cameras. Again, the FZ5 can only reach 400 ISO (I think), where as the Fuji can reach 1200, which makes it ideal for low light photos. The Panasonic has far more noise in comparison to the Fuji as well.