Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Jan 11, 2006, 2:47 PM   #1

I am a newbie to the digital world so thank you in advance for your patience and advice. I would like a point and shoot camera that I can basically put on "automatic" and get good quality pictures. I'm a mom who will be taking mostly indoor photos of my very active toddler, I am hoping for a good digital camera that is easy to use. Some of the cameras that I am looking at are the Kodak z730, Kodak z740, and the Canon a610. Which one would be best for me, or do you have suggestions for others? I would like to stay around the $300 range. Thank you.
Night Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 11, 2006, 7:40 PM   #2

I made a similar purchasing decision recently and my first priority was shutter lag combined with low-light focusing (capturing a moving toddler indoors).

On that basis I eliminated the Cannon A610 because it was justa tad too slow for my liking. I decided on a Sony-W5 because it has very low shutter lag and have been happy with it so far. But I didn't seriously consider the other two models you mention (not because of any failing on their part, but there are only so many cameras you can deal with at one time) so can't comment on them.
John S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2006, 8:36 PM   #3

I would go with the Canon A610 for many reasons. For one the sensor is bigger, the max shutter time is better, you have a better flip/twist LCD, better noise reduction algorithms and better movie capabilities.
All in all, there's few cameras in the price range that can match that, if any.
Good luck!
zygh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2006, 10:28 PM   #4

With a toddler. You'll LOVE the flip lcd.. it's worth any bit of other features.. PRICELESS
vwmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2006, 3:00 PM   #5