Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 19, 2006, 7:30 AM   #1

I've been visiting Steves-digicams for about 3 or 4 years now & have found it a great resouce for helping me choose cameras for myself & family.

This is my first post on the forums though. Currently I own a Canon A80
and am very happy with it. However I have always lusted after a digital SLR camera.

Now that the D50 with 2 lenses (18-55 & 55-200) & canon 350d (18-55) are at about thre £500 mark, they are in a range I can afford. I've read loads of threads about which one is better & come to the conclusion that both are great buys & one can't go far wrong.

The issue that concerns me at the moment is an article I read (sorry, lost the link) that Nikon encrypts data in the raw files produced by their cameras - namely the white balance data. It seems liek a bit a of a cheek to lock you in to using their software or plugins.

My problem is that whilst I would begrudge paying extra for software that could decrypt the files, I probably couldn't run it anyway. My operating system of choice is Linux & I use a free program called the GIMP for my image editing needs. I was just wondering where this situation leaves me? I have never shot RAW before but liek the idea that it opens up a bit of freeedom post processing if I need to however I donn't like the idea of being locked out of my own files.

Do Canon do this too, what about the other major brands? Does anyone know of any open source hacks or solutions?

I realise it might be a stab in the dark here as Linux has a pretty low market share but perhaps there are some GIMP users that might know or also be interested? GIMP is photshop type application for Windows, Linux, & Mac

ixus_123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 19, 2006, 3:01 PM   #2

Here's RAW converter for Linux, it works also as GIMP plugin