Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 20, 2006, 2:57 AM   #1

Hi all!

I'm an enthusiast photographer who has only ever used 35mm film, & now I'm about to take the leap into digital photography finally - & yes, I'm a little daunted!

My first question is re the quality - am I going to be disappointed??? What I'd like to be able to do is print poster size (say approx 20x30 inch plus)- can this be done when the budget only allows for the Canon 350D or 20D with the 17-85mmIS lens?

The second question is re the comparison b/w the Canon 350D & 20D. I'll probably get the 17-85mm IS lens, so if final image quality & sharpness is the #1 priority, which camera should I buy???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
luigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2006, 5:42 AM   #2

from reviews and from images I have seen the 20d seems a much better camera, if you can afford it - get it...

as for printing out to poster size, yes it is possible as posters dont require the 300 dpi of photos

i mentioned it here:

audioedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2006, 12:59 PM   #3

I'd suggest that you look at one of the cheap pocket sized digicams. Then learn how to use a photo editor.You can then either keep the pocket camera to always have a camera with you or give it to your niece/brother/... for Christmas/birthday/... dSLRs are very good, but they are big enough that you are not likely to always have it with you.

Or have scans made from your chemical camera to learn how to use a photo editor. That is fairly cheap if done at lowish resolutionwhen the film is processed.

By the time you have figured the editorout, the prices of dSLRs will have come down and/or better ones will be available.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2006, 3:43 PM   #4
Super Moderator

Most commentators believe that the current 6-8Mp DSLRs equal or exceed 35mm film in overall image quality.