Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 25, 2006, 12:17 AM   #1

I am a foreigner in India and used a fujiilm s3000z till now. I like photography and during the time using the fujifilm I learned a bit how to take nice pictures. Now my camera has become a limitation and I see that an upgrade is needed.

Ive narrowed my search down to the olympus e500 and nikon D50.

My problem is that I have absolutely no clue which would be better for my needs. Is the limitation of de D50 with Iso minimum of 200 not good? As the E500 comes with 2 lenses, is it a better choice?

I used the Fujifilm for 2 years. I am a medical student and traveler in India and using the camera for a lot of different scenes.

Can someone give me some advice?

joris1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 25, 2006, 7:29 AM   #2

Joris -

I've had an Olympus E-500 since last October 2005 and have absolutely enjoyed using it. I looked long and hard at all the "entry level" digital SLRs and settled on the E-500. That said, I think almost any DSLR will provide excellent pictures given that we, as the photographer, learn how to use our new camera and how to compose a good picture. I do reasonably well using my E-500; I'm not that good at composition.

Why did I buy the E-500 and not the D50 or Canon Rebel XT? I loved the way the Olympus captures colors. The E-500 also felt more comfortable in my hands - everything felt justright. The menu system was clear and easy to navigate. And the technical aspects of the E-500 put it right up there with DSLRs costing much more. The back LCD is huge and provides an excellent review of your pictures.