Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 25, 2006, 10:51 AM   #1

I like to go on long bike trips, some with groups, some solo. I like to be able to take "grab shots" from the bike as well as more composed shots when stopped.

I'm looking for an ultracompact that is fast, easy to use, and durable. Budget is $300-350. I'm not a prosumer but have some training and knowledge of photography (used to develop my own film, had a small darkroom many years ago). Nowadays I'm more casual, I'm not looking to blow up beyond 8 x 10, but I do like to crop and enlarge portions of a photo. Some manual controls would be nice but not critical to have.

I have an Olympus C5050, very happy with the photo quality and the features but it is too big to fit in a bike jersey pocket. Also the wheel that selects the mode (macro, distance, movie etc) is very easily bumped. I have taken a lot of movies inadvertently, using up the memory temporarily until I notice the goof.

We had a Konica/Minolta Dimage g500 (if I remember the model correctly), it had a lot of problems with picture quality, but it fit nicely in a pocket!

I'm going to be riding in an organized ride March 11, would like to have the camera by then.

I've been considering the Pentax Optio wpi and the Casio Exilim Z750. Someone posted a similar question in August 2005, they were considering the Fuji Finepix E550, the Canon Powershot SD500, and the same Casio Z750. They were advised to consider the Kodak DX-7440 and DX-7630.