Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Feb 26, 2006, 8:03 PM   #1

Hi, this is my first post. I have a collection of Nikons starting with a 1974 F2A, an F3, F100 and F5. I also have a few point and shoot digitals my favorite being the Coolpix 5700.

I'm looking to get into my first digital SLR and finding difficulty getting good advise. These day's i'm basically a recreational photographer. Portraits, sports, vacations etc. Of utmost importance is quick focus for action shots centered around jumping horses and basketball.

The 50 seems like a great buy, unsure of the advantages of the 70s over the 50, and of course i'd love the 200, though I don't understand a majority of the available features. Money is certainly an issue getting into the 200 as it's a major price jump from the the 50 or 70s. Keep in mind that glass isn't an issue. I have 6 lens that I use with the F100 that should work well including the 80-200 2.8 silent wave.

My questions are:

1. Will the 50 meet my short term needs of good color and fast focusing for action photography. (is the 2.5 frame rate a disadvantage?)

2. Is the high cost of the 200 worth the added expense for a recreational photographer.

3. Will my existing lens work as well as the newer lens designed for the digital camera bodies?

4. Will my SB-28 flash work well with the digital camera or do I need to upgrade?

Thanks to all for your help.

rmessinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 26, 2006, 8:42 PM   #2

rmessinger wrote:
Of utmost importance is quick focus for action shots centered around jumping horses and basketball.
This is where the D200 will shine over the other cameras. With 5fps, you can take a dozen pictures of something like a basketball shot, and choose the one that was taken at the best moment.