Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Mar 26, 2006, 3:55 PM   #1

I am new to wildlife and landscape photography and am wanting to buy a digital camera. I want one that has great zooming capablity (lens attachment capability preferred, but not required), can handle rugged conditions, takes high quality pics, and is no less than 5 megapixels(preferably 6). I am looking to spend less than $650. I know this is a lot to ask for, but any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks! -Stewart
auwildlifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2006, 6:13 PM   #2

That is a tall order. The first cameras that come to mindareeither the Fuji S-9000 or the KM A-200. Both have a 28mm wide angle settings as well as about 7.5X optical zoom for the KM A-200 and almost 9X for the Fuji S-9000 which can handle the wildlife photos.

With KM going out of business on 04/01 I would tend to think that while there will be support for the dSLR cameras, that the support for the KM point and shoot cameras will fall off rather rapidly. Just a thought.

The Fuji S-9000 (S-9500 in Europe) is a nice camera, but its images almost always require some post processing. I know because i own one. This being apparently your first digital camera, you may not want to jump into photo editing software, at the same time that you are learning a new digital camera.

But there are some ideas.

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2006, 2:40 PM   #3

Kodak P880's 24mm wide angle would be phenomenal for landscapes but its 140mm tele isn't much longer than that of compact pocket cam so cameras with 28mm wide angle would be better compromises.
(zoom is just ratio of longest and shortest focal length, it doesn't tell anything concretic)

These are taken at 28mm.

For 36mm fov crop away ~20% from height and width.