Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > What Camera Should I Buy?

Old Aug 23, 2006, 3:22 AM   #1

I photograph real estate for a living, in my original circumstances I have been using a C7070 Olympus. Althouh this camera has served me well, its time to go upmarket a bit. In my work I photograph interiors and exteriors. Interiors nearly always require flash, but I prefer to mix it with natural light through the windows and the interior lights of the house. I like the way these photgraphs look, and the style has been a good seller.

I guess a good way to look for improvement is to say something about common issues. The C7070 is rather noisy at 400 asa and above, so I manage to shoot at 200 asa inside almost always. I hand hold even down to 1/8 sec, sometimes more successfuly than others. The camera has a good range of white ballance, and using Paint Shop Pro I have never had an issue that I cannot conquer. I use an Olympus FL-36 flash in TTL mode 1 stop underexposed, it rarely lets me down.

Super wide angle is required for interiors in this work. I have a Raynox 730 converter which at 18.9mm is way wide, but I lose a bit in correcting the rather bad distortion. The lens produces images that are a little soft. Around 22 to 24mm would be fine by my estimation, but its a must have to shoot wide. I never use a tripod, to me they stifle composition.

I have had problems in composition because the LCD viewer is a tad tiny at 1.8 inches. I would hope to go bigger here. The flip viewer is used all the time, either like a view camera indoors or over the head while shooting uphill outside.