Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Wide Carriage Inkjet

Old Nov 16, 2006, 4:19 PM   #1

Hello, i am a newbie in digital photography and i own a10Mp Sony DSC-R1. I would like to print the beautiful photographs it takes in an A3/A3+ size (13x19), keeping the maximum photo quality andbeing sure my photographs still look really good even when my 2 years child has become an adult. Can someone among you suggest a good printer that matches these requirements?

- Lab-quality printouts up to 13x19;

- Stand-alone printing capabilities (i.e. able to print directly from my DSC-R1 without a computer, possibly "pictbridge"), VERY IMPORTANT - even without an lcd display;

- Long-lasting printouts (framedand keptin daylight), no less than 30 years;

- Possibly waterproof printouts (i guess it to be very difficult for inkjet printers, so i can live without);

- Affordable price (say $500 shelves price).

I have heard good things about5 printers: HP 8750 and B9180 (maybe not stand-alone?), Canon i9900 and Pixma pro 9000 and Epson R1800 (maybenot stand-alone?), but in my town i can't test them and i don't know wich one could be best for my needs; also, i don't know if thereis any other model that would be more appropriate for me. Please, can someone help me?

Thank you in advance for your kindness.
Luca72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2006, 7:55 PM   #2

Hi newbie,
If you have deep pockets and want real printer quality,
then the Epson Pro 4800 is the way to go. I've been using
this big beast for 4 months now and it's quite incredible.
110 or 220 ml new K3 pigment inks, built-in roll paper
cutter, 17" by whatever-length-u-want prints, prints well
on almost anything (when tested and proofed) and arrives
at your place on a wooden skid in a giant box (it's that
big).

I can print 8x11 plain paper b&w's to 17" x 'whatever'
fine art prints with it. The 220ml K3 inks will go on
forever. Waterproof and fade resistant.