Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Wide Carriage Inkjet

Old Oct 24, 2003, 10:46 AM   #1

Default Poor print quality on canon s9000

I recently purchased a Canon s9000 based on reviews from Steve's DigiCams. Based on recommendation from this same review I purchased the following paper:

"Ritz Camera's BigPrint glossy photo paper is excellent and very economical, the 4 x 6" 30 sheet packs are $6.69 and the 8.5 x 11" 10 sheet packs are $8.99 and right now Ritz has a "Buy 2 get 1 Free" deal going. "

However, my first prints were very poor. Color was poor and there was clear dot patterns. I tried three times with the same four pictures, but changing the setting in the driver and the results got worse. I am a complete novice and wonder if there is something else I can do to improve the quality or do I just need to buy Canon paper? I bought the Ritz paper because of cost and I thought in the beginning, as I learn how to use the printer, it would be better to learn on less expensive paper. But the results were so poor I thought I must be doing something wrong.
Bruce Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 2, 2003, 5:38 PM   #2
Administrator

Well, nothing is as good as Canon's Photo Paper Pro but we did get acceptable results with the Ritz paper. You need to be sure to select the right media, what are selecting? Try using the Glossy Photo Paper media type.

-Steve
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2004, 11:28 PM   #3

Stick to Canon Pro Paper--remember, it takes about a half hour for the inks to dry and then you usually get beautiful images.
rextilleon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2004, 10:24 PM   #4