Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Wide Carriage Inkjet

Old May 21, 2010, 7:19 AM   #1

Default Epson or Canon?

My i9950 has died. RIP. I can't say I was displeased with it except that it did from time to time throw a wobbly, like all printers I guess. What I am looking for is your experiences with the Epson1400 or above and the Pixma 9000 range so I can make a decision on what to buy next. Over to you. I would add I am a professional motor racing photographer and do sell quite a number of A3+ prints so quality is imperative.
cameranserai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 5, 2010, 6:19 PM   #2

I almost bought a Canon, nothing wrong with Canon, but I went with the Epson R1900. I LOVE the color and B&W. I use a Spyder Express2 to cal my monitor and printer. What I see is what I get.
Just my 2 cents.
shadokachr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 11:29 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by cameranserai View Post
My i9950 has died. RIP. I can't say I was displeased with it except that it did from time to time throw a wobbly, like all printers I guess. What I am looking for is your experiences with the Epson1400 or above and the Pixma 9000 range so I can make a decision on what to buy next. Over to you. I would add I am a professional motor racing photographer and do sell quite a number of A3+ prints so quality is imperative.
Did you use the i9950 because it was among the most portable of the a3+ printers?

The first thing that comes to mind is why not consider the R series, or better yet, something larger like the 3880. You can get a referb for $1000ish, or a new one for about the same after rebates. It'll take 80ml cartridges. If you prefer something likely to be 1:1 Costco's poster solutions, you have the 3800, slightly older but without vivid magenta tanks. Frankly you're going to be paying for the ink, and the 3800 would represent 25% less cost for the same premium ink.