Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Wide Carriage Inkjet

Old Aug 12, 2004, 12:31 PM   #1

I'm a designer who recently purchased the Canon i9100 large-format printer with the intention of creating 13-inch wide by 40-inch-long, vertical displays for our storefront in NYC. The printer can handle media a bit more than 13 inches wide, and since my previous Epson printer could print up to 44 inches long, I assumed the Canon printer could as well.

I was wrong. The Canon has a self-imposed maximum printing area of 13" x 23.39" when using custom paper sizes on both Macintosh and Windows platforms. So I contact Canon support and received this information:

"When selecting a custom paper size, OS X does not set any limits to the height and width. The printer supports a specific range of values for the dimensions. For the i9100 they are:
width: 3.54" to 16.54"
height: 4.72" to 23.39"

Why 23.39" you ask? I wasn't sure either, but it struck me as odd since technically the printer should be able to print as long as I want, limited only by the length of my paper. Even stranger, they said the printer could print up to 16.54" wide, which is odd since the paper feed can only manage 13".

So I replied to Canon, "Why the arbitrary limit? Shouldn't the printer technically be able to...? Their reply:

"Regrettably, we are not privy to any product design information from marketing or corporate headquarters. Therefore, the likelihood that we will be able to discover the rationale for the paper maximum size constraint of the i9100 is low. One could speculate that anything larger that than a 23.39 inch size may be used to for banner printing, which the i9100 does not support.

However, in our endeavor to provide you with our best customer service possible, we will try to ascertain if there a reason for the paper size. Please allow until Friday, July 28, 2004, for a response. If you have any further questions until then, please do not hesitate to reply to this email message.