Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jun 25, 2003, 11:48 PM   #1

Default great blue heron part 4

Here is the last shot of the heron from the other posts. I had been very careful to not bother him, but I discovered that I could get to his side and get a more traditional pose. I'm a little annoyed that I blew the highlights and the neck is a little dark (but the one with the fill flash was worse on the hilights and the neck seemed artificially bright... looked "wrong" to me.) I like it enough to post, though.

Ok, I'll stop being critical... tell me what you all thing! And I say it again, I'm new to PS, so give me any suggestions you can. I could use them. If you want to work the photo, I can upload the origional, but realize it's ~2.5mb file.

10D, 100-400L @ 275mm, F5.6, 1/250 400ISO, handheld, lots of PS work.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 26, 2003, 1:29 AM   #2

Hi Eric

Great shot - not really anything wrong, but I took my big glasses on at found this:

The burned out highlight on it's head and body can be cloned away.
The tree in the bottom and left could be blurred to get a nicer DOF.
Add some USM and partial sharpness too.
I little nice grey frame.

What do you think ?

Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2003, 8:41 AM   #3

I like it. I had struggled with trying to bring out the detail and lighten the neck with the wand tool and brighting, but I was never happy with the results. The neck you got is much more like what I wanted. Cloning away the head hilight makes sense, didn't think of it.

There seems to be a sharpening artifact on the inside curve of its neck, but I still like it better than what I did. I can only get better in photoshop through doing and learning. Thanks for the help.

Eric
Old Jun 26, 2003, 9:59 AM   #4

Lovely rework, good photo to start with.

Greetings,
Frank
Frank Doorhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2003, 10:36 AM   #5