Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Mar 25, 2007, 12:02 PM   #1

These are my first pics with my Nikon D50. Im new at photography and would love to get some comments and tips. Thanks and enjoy

j3ss1ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2007, 1:42 PM   #2

The second pic is special....

One tip...I see alot of these images have the sun on the side or back. Sometimes that's an advantage, but with animals and birds, it's good to get bright eyes...only possible when the sun is on the eyes.

Second, although I know this is hard in some places, I'd try to find more natural looking perches than a chainlink fence:roll:

Great series, keep practicing and KEEP POSTING!

Kita
Kita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 7:28 PM   #3

Great vivid colors from that D50. Your EXIF data is Focal Length = 300mm, what lens did you use?
Keep um coming, nice job.

Jeff
jbarrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2007, 11:04 PM   #4

Thanks for the comments and tips. I used the sigma 70-300mm
Old Mar 26, 2007, 10:27 AM   #5

Overall, you have some nice pictures. However, the whites are overexposed (commonly called "blown out") in most of them, at least they appear that way on my monitor. This is a common problem with white subjects. When taking such shots in the future, you may wish to spot meter on the brightest part of the white, or reduce your exposure compensation by about 2/3 of a stop or so.
drobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2007, 11:35 AM   #6

Hi Jessica,