Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Jul 28, 2004, 11:10 PM   #1

I think these are better. I changed the color settings( moved it to warm, it was on normal) in my camera, set iso to 50, and changed white balance to sunlight (it was on auto.

Tonight there were 5 hawks on the sprinkler. It will only be there for about two weeks as they are cutting the alphalpha and then once they have it bailed and picked up they will start using the sprinkler again.

I wish I had read Normcars response before I worked with these because I did hit sharpen more then I tried to reduce the sharpening in Picture it 7. I will know better next time. I resisted the impulse to use digital zoom, these were shot at 12x optical with teleconverter.

I will need to study some on Bobbyz's and normcars advice about sizeing the photos. That is something I have never tried before and alot of the terminology is beyond me.

I think I improved the yellow color in Photoshop with auto fix it seemed to whiten a bit.

Anyway please let me know if these are better. They look much better to me.

These are of a brighter bird, I skipped over the dark brown splotchy one.

zoomn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2004, 11:36 PM   #2

100% better...excellent photos!

I still see too much yellow for my own personal tastes but that is "color" and color is purely incidental and subjective and locational. The colors that you are posting may well be the exact colors that you see. Only you know that zoomn.

Beyond that, wow, what a difference!

Nice job!

PS - here's a quick color idea that I put together. Understand, I am not saying this is better or more accurate, because that's something only the photographer who was there can say. I'd say that this bird of yours definitely has a yellow cast so you're version is probably more accurate than my attempt to change it. I say this because, no matter what I did with color, the yellow cast remained.