Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Oct 7, 2004, 10:08 AM   #1

I know you love your 50-500 telephoto lens (I think you said it was a sigma) and I was wondering if you agree with these comments regarding the lens. One guy states you can do without a tripod and some of the other comments are not encouraging.

http://www.birdforum.net/reviews/sho...=14&page=1
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2004, 11:41 AM   #2

hmm...one thing i read

the last guy said "virtually impossible to handhold"

well....normcar is living, breathing proof that it is VERY possible...

it's a great lens, the 300mm prime that guy rented, would probably cost double if not more than the 50-500....(looked them up...saw a hassleblad 300mm f/2.8 prime costed 22,000....lol....dollars...

but the nikon and canon 300mm prime's were 4,000+

well....that's one point i know...i'm not very experienced when it comes to SLR's...and lenses (yet...muahahha), but, 3,000 dollars difference is pretty big...

hope this helps..

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2004, 11:53 AM   #3

I know of couple of guys on dpreview who can hand hold the bigma but you need to shoot at higher shutter speeds at 500mm. From what I have heard about this lens, the weight is distributed nicely so it can be used without the tripod but I would recommend using one. It gives the best bang for the buck as far as 500mm is concerned, IMHO.

If you don't need the zoom, canon 400mm f5.6 prime would be another option. A bit more but very nice lens for flight shots and can be used (depending on light) with 1.4x on 300D, 110/20D.
bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2004, 12:10 PM   #4

Some find it hard to hand hold the 50-500. It weighs about 4 lbs (1,850g) and is a powerful zoom (500mm) and it has no image stabilization.

Can it be done? Yes, some can. But most can not, at least not at 500mm.