Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Dec 26, 2004, 8:42 PM   #1

:? I think I've read somewhere in this forum that you are supposed to resize down before using usm or other kinds of post processing. But what about cropping. Would it be:

1.Resize 2.Crop 3. Post process

or

1. Crop 2. Resize 3. Post process
Houston is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2004, 9:07 PM   #2

If I was using neat image I would first do that processing prior to resizing or cropping because I'd have more of an area for the rough noise analyser.
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2004, 9:39 PM   #3

Normcar wrote:
Quote:
If I was using neat image I would first do that processing prior to resizing or cropping because I'd have more of an area for the rough noise analyser.
Thanks Normcar but all I have used so far is PS Elements 2. Don't really know what neat image is yet. I'm pretty new to this.

I read your answer to someone a few minutes ago. That is great information to me also. I have printed it out for reference. Today I was in my little hunting blind shooting again and toward the end of my session I took my camera and lens off of the tripod and just used it as a post to steady my hand and that worked out good. As long as I can stay at ss400 or above that works nicely. So I was already trying one or two of the things you mentioned that you do. I had sunshine off and on today but I've got lots of trees in my backyard so its in and out of the shade. Most all of the ones taken today are at the feeders. I don't really like the pictures that way but it was a lot easier to get good shots. I'm working on them now.
Old Dec 26, 2004, 11:12 PM   #4

1. do everything else.
2. crop
2.5 save copy for the future.
3. reduce
4. sharpen