Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Feb 7, 2005, 9:57 PM   #1

I saw this little guy on my college campus and I was wondering if anyone could tell me what kind of bird he is? I'm new at taking photos of birds and I thought it would be interesting if I could get the names to go with the pictures. Thanks :-)

mommy2owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2005, 10:07 PM   #2

Nice shot, looks to me like a mockingbird but I've never seen one in real life so it's just a guess by color and appearance. I'm sure I'll be corrected if wrong. Thanks for sharing and good luck with the photography.
Normcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2005, 10:36 PM   #3

Normcar is exactly correct. That is a mockingbird. I find it interesting you don't get them up there. I've had them for years, so I always think of them as a more common sight.

Have fun with the birds. They are my favorite subject. Don't worry if you have trouble with them every now and then... they are a very hard subject to photography well. But stick to it, you'll have fun.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 9:51 AM   #4

I would have to differ about this being a Mockingbird. The head shape is not right, Mockingbirds do not have an eye ring,the bill is too short, and the bird is too small IMO. The Mocking bird also has distinct brown eyes with black iris.

I am from US West coast, and I do not know where you are from, but I would say this may be a Pewee, Flycatcher, Vireo, Gnat Catcher.

This is a typical Mockingbird if the attachment works:

Attached Images

dcl2q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 11:15 AM   #5

I'm going to have to say that it is a Mockingbird also. I also posted some pics of this same bird a while back and called it a gray vireo. Everybody this side of wherever told me it was a Mockingbird. BTW you took some very nice pics.

Houston
Houston is offline   Reply With Quote