Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Feb 22, 2006, 10:26 AM   #1

i am considering stepping up from my FZ20 to a Canon 20D, and am wondering about lenses. i'm not a novice photographer by any means, and i know i need at least a 400mm lens to make capturing shots of wildlife - especially small birds - worthwhile, but many of the lenses out there seem so blatantly overpriced, and there are so many conflicting claims and opinions, that i'm not sure which one to get. i want something that will take advantage of the 20D's excellent image quality, but i'd prefer not to mortgage the house to get it! and i certainly don't want to shell out the better part of a week's pay for a lens only to find out i made a mistake!!

has anyone used the Sigma 80-400 f4.5-5.6 OS lens? any thoughts on how it compares to Canon's "L" series? the Sigma is a good $400 less than the 100-400L... i've heard the "L" series lenses are about the best out there, but are they enough better than the Sigma - or even the other Canon lenses - to justify the stratospheric prices?

as an alternative, would the Canon 70-300 f4-5.6 be a reasonable compromise? out of the box, it will give me about the same reach as my FZ20 (480mm for the Canon vs 432 for my FZ20), though with the TC on my FZ20, i'm out to 620mm...has anyone tried the 70-300 with a 1.4x converter? how does that lens compare optically to the Leica lens in the FZ20?

squirl033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 22, 2006, 11:28 AM   #2