Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Wildlife Photos

Old Mar 23, 2006, 1:43 PM   #1

This shot is straight out of the camera, TOTALLY over exposed. {in fact I had discarded it until tonight when I was looking for a really badly exposed shot to see just how much could be recovered, and the resulting pic looks OK}
Attached Images

JakeTPegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 23, 2006, 1:45 PM   #2

The result : {I think I'm going to keep this one after all}
Attached Images

JakeTPegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 1:59 PM   #3

You bring colour into the world - zolbol.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 4:25 PM   #4

ok if you do not mind I have a couple of questions. I am really new to the digi cam and have just started taking bird shots

1- how close were you and what set up. I have a 5200 and tried to take a shot at around 30 ft and found that the 10x is NOWHERE near enough lens. I am sure now I need to get a longer lens AND get alot closer.

2 what program did you use to recover this / looks alot better than the first.

thanks
strickland36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2006, 10:21 PM   #5
KEM

Oh my! I would have definitely tossed that first one out Jake. I noticed that some of our local CC's offer courses in PS and I think I'm going to take one. Thanks for taking the time to show the differences in raw as they do show a notable advantage over JPEG processing.
-Kent

JakeTPegg wrote:
Quote:
This shot is straight out of the camera, TOTALLY over exposed. {in fact I had discarded it until tonight when I was looking for a really badly exposed shot to see just how much could be recovered, and the resulting pic looks OK}
KEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 3:12 AM   #6

Good recovery Jake. Yes, RAW has its advantages. Cute bird too.......thekman.
thekman620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2006, 9:49 AM   #7
DBB

strickland36 wrote:
Quote: