Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Xtreme Makeover

Old Nov 21, 2005, 5:52 AM   #1

Hi

I am starting clr photos. i am finding it really hard to get the color balance etc correct. also sharpness and all the rest.

can i get some help with maybe someone doing a quick over haul of the image and just posting the processes involved so i can get started on my own images.

I found b&w hard enough and now color is a whole new can of worms.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

like maybe sharpness, color balance, levels, curves, air brushing. I know what these things are and i have basic knowledge but my skills arnt high enough to make this image look any good

Ohh yea the lighting i am using is manly tungsten based and no i cant afford to change it.

This is one of the worst images from the lot as i want to fix up the better ones so plsedont be to hard on me about the photo LOL :?

thanks heaps

KEN
Aucks, NZ
Attached Images

kenmck15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 21, 2005, 6:48 AM   #2

Hi again Ken.

I'll repost my edit here as it is more relevant.

Yes, I use PS, but one of the best things to use for a situation like this is a noise removal program/filter. It can help tremendously to remove slight blemishes as well as noise and as a consequence, it also softens the image. But that's not a problem, as we want the skin to be soft and can sharpen up the features afterwards.

So, first, 'Create New Layer' to work on, then I ran the image through Noise Ninja. If you don't have this, and I highly recommend it, you can download a trial version. Alternatively, Neat Image is also very good and that is available for free !! In the form of a never ending trial version for home use.There are limits to the full functionality, but I understand this is only for things like batch processing etc.