Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Xtreme Makeover

Old Dec 24, 2005, 10:12 PM   #1

Stevekin, asked me to post a sample here. What my issue is, While I am new to photo editing, but I love portraits, (people photos anyhow) is how to get all the green out, or whatever background, without killing the hair. It is especially common in light haired subjects, or light skinned subjects, as the green screen reflects onto the subject. Can you teach me? I will post my attempt next
dashboardgyno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 24, 2005, 10:28 PM   #2

sorry guys here is the picture
Attached Images

Old Dec 25, 2005, 4:01 AM   #3

The image you posted can be done with some work but the best thing to do is start off with things in your favor. The more detail you have to work with from the beginning, the more you can maintain. You image at 100% is not of very good quality. Try keeping the subject away from the background a little. Looks like they are right up against it. Green screen is not always the way to go, which yours does not appear to be an actual green screen. If have an idea of what type of background you are going to implement into the shot then you can change your screen accordingly. Below was done with a black screen because I knew what kind of background I would be adding in.

You can also use the same technique to change an existing background color if you do not go to drastic with the change. Below I changed from a rather dull grey background to a nicer blue.

First let me stress that if you plan on doing this type of work alot, go ahead and invest is a nice pen and tablet. The speed and accuracy of your work will increase ten fold. A large table is not necessary. I used a Wacom 4x5.