Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Xtreme Makeover

Old Mar 2, 2006, 3:36 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

This is a picture of Megan. I have been photographing her for two years, building up her confidence etc prior to helping her get into modelling.

Anyway, how do I go about changing a models hair colour to normal hair colours e.g. blonde, brunette, streaks etc?

I use Photoshop CS.

Could someone have a go and give step by step instuctions?

Cheers

Allan
Attached Images

Angel1403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 2, 2006, 6:16 PM   #2

First, add a Hue/Saturation adjustment layer. Select from the drop down the color that you want to change, then adjust the hue, saturation and lightness. If it isn't changing all the hair, expand the color range using the sliders at the bottom of the Hue/Saturation menu.

You will most likely end up coloring parts you don't intend to, and that's fine. Notice that when you create the adjustment layer, it has a layer mask to the right of it that is pure white. This means that it will apply to the whole image. Select the mask and invert it (ctrl + i). Now the mask is black and applies to none of the image. With the mask still selected, use a paint brush and paint white all over the hair. Anything white in the mask will receive the adjustment.

To try another color, simply duplicate the adjustment layer (drag it onto the new layer icon (the piece of paper) at the bottom of the layers menu). Make one adjustment layer invisible and then change the other layer. I found that I like the way black hair looks on this model.

To add highlights, I use a similar trick. Add a curves adjustment, or any other adjustment you like to make the image appear to be brightly lit. Invert the adjustment layer's mask, then use a white brush to paint the highlights.

Attached Images

Corpsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 2, 2006, 6:16 PM   #3

Here's the finished color change with highlights.

Attached Images