View Single Post
Old Aug 7, 2005, 6:45 AM   #93
DougG

Newbie here - I've been browsing Steve's Digicams for ages and I'm glad I finally checked out this forum, and signed up. I'll follow the general template I've seen here for these introductions. I hope I don't bore you too much!

1) My music tastes are fairly eclectic: ABBA, Bach (all of 'em), Beethoven, Berlioz, Big Band (various), Billy Currie, Bizet, Blondie, Bowie, Brahms, Bruch, Bruckner, Chemical Brothers, Chopin, Corelli, de Falla, Debussy, Depeche Mode, Duran Duran, Dvorak, EBTG, Elgar, Elton John, Eurythmics, Fatboy Slim, Franck, Gordon Lightfoot, Grieg, Heart, Holst, Human League, Jean-Michel Jarre, Jimmy Somerville (& Bronski Beat), Joni Mitchell, kd lang, Lalo, Liszt, Madonna, Manic Street Preachers,endelssohn, Midnight Oil, Moby, Mozart, Mussorgsky, My GarageBand Stuff, Numan, Orff, Orgy, Pet Shop Boys, Peter Gabriel, PIL, Prokofiev, Pulp, Rachmaninoff, Rammstein, Ravel, Rimsky Korsakov, Roxy Music, Rush, Saint Saëns, Santana, Satie, Schubert, Schumann, Sibelius, Smetana, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Tchaikovsky, Télépopmusik, U2, Ultravox, Vangelis, Vivaldi, Yello. I'm sure I've forgotten a few dozen names.

I am musically untrained however last year I began dabbling in home-made synth music; I have lots of tracks posted here:

http://www.macidol.com/jamroom/bands/205

Varying styles and varying degrees of success. This music isn't everyone's cup of tea but I'm having fun and that's what's important, isn't it?

2) Books... unfortunately I haven't done much reading in the past couple of months however it's mostly sci-fi for me. Favourite authors include Frank Herbert, Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Azimov, Larry Niven, Samuel R. Delany, James Blish, Alan Dean Foster, Kurt Vonnegut, H. G. Wells, Ursula K. Le Guin, Stephen King, and many, many more...